Out for all that I can get

211872_overflowing_glass_1It all needs to be timed just so.  Over- or under-estimating any element during the day will result in getting less of it into my body than is needed.  How much is needed?  All that I can get.

I look at the clock more than I look at anything else on this earth.  I have 3 hours before I have to go to bed.  How much vodka do I have stashed behind the spare bedroom’s door?  If I overestimate how much is left, I won’t realize that I’ve run out until after the liquor stores are closed.  I can’t let that happen.

That would mean elevated anxiety, knowing that I will have to go more than 12 hours without alcohol.  That would mean feeling nauseous and irritable for hours before I can reasonably excuse myself from the office for an “early lunch” and race to a bank machine and then to the store.  I can’t let that happen.

There is a minimum level of vodka to blood ratio that must be maintained.  Otherwise my body will begin to rebel.  I have to make sure that there’s enough stashed around the house and in the car to get me through, because I’m out for all that I can get and truthfully, no amount will ever be enough.

Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55

Take the third line of the last song you heard, make it your post title, and write for a maximum of 15 minutes. GO!

12 thoughts on “Out for all that I can get

  1. Pingback: Can’t Change the Haters, God Bless ‘Em. | The Hempstead Man

  2. Pingback: What’s my work really like? | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Been your own prophet, swam seven seas yet you remain discontent | Expressions

  4. Pingback: Such A Color | Edward Hotspur

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Well, I walk in the air between the rain through myself and back again Where? I don’t know | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: Maybe that’s the way I should go | Alastair's Blog

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt – White Jet trails across the blue sky | Joe's Musings

  8. Pingback: You Know, Anklebiters | Molly Greye

  9. Pingback: I’M SUCH A MESS | hastywords

  10. Pingback: A little absurdity | A mom's blog

  11. Pingback: Would it change you? | Life & Times

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55 | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Thoughts?

