Singular Sensation: Sobriety

Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation

If one experience or life change results from you writing your blog, what would you like it to be?

My goal for this blog from the beginning has been to give myself a place to work out thoughts and feelings in a quest to feel more comfortable within my own skin.  A large part of this project is to stay sober.

So much of my overall unhappiness is tied to alcohol.  Plus, the alcohol exasperated bipolar symptoms and anxiety.  There is no question that alcohol was a big part of what made day-to-day life so unbearable, despite convincing myself that it was the one thing that helped.

In the past 5 years, I’ve tried many times to stay sober, always going about it the same way – alone and in secret.  Knowing that I have to do things differently to have any chance at success, I’m putting things in place that make it harder for me to relapse this time.  One of these things is this blog.  Simply posting regularly about what day of sobriety I’m on, it’s one more thing to consider when thinking about drinking: do I really want to come here and have to admit that I’m back at day 1?  It may sound small, almost trivial, but to me it’s one more tent pole helping to keep my sobriety up.

 

15 thoughts on “Singular Sensation: Sobriety

  1. Pingback: Dear Mom | mentalrollercoaster

  2. I LOVE this post. In my opinion, the only wrong way to do sobriety is to choose to drink again. Other than that, I think it’s open season. It’s incredible to begin to follow you. I see much of me in you. Never give up … you’ll find your way. I didn’t know day 1 was REALLY day 1 until about day 247, and by then I had quit counting days. We never stop looking for ways to make life work better (even after we get sober). Sending some love, Lisa

    Like

  3. Pingback: A picture from Pamplona | Vivir, que no es poco

  4. Pingback: Being in contact with you | Vivir, que no es poco

  5. I totally relate to what you say about trying to get sober in secret and failing. I have done that so many times. Eventually I start writing a blog, make myself accountable, find some invaluable support online and hey presto, things start to go the way I’d hoped! Lovely post x

    Like

  6. Pingback: Will You Remember Me? | Cheri Speak

  7. Pingback: What I’d Like to Happen, Already Has! | Iam Who Iam

  8. Pingback: Singular Sensation (Daily Prompt) | Mike, In Transition

  9. I’m no Einstein, but I believe YOU may be: “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” — Albert Einstein (posting regularly about what day of sobriety you’re on is anything but trivial)

    Like

  10. Pingback: One, singular sensation | Notes from a gay mentalist

  11. Pingback: Singular Sensation: Friendship | Khana's Web

Thoughts?

