Day 119: Recovery & Re-counting

Barbie Math is HardComplex mathematics has never been my strong-suit.  However I thought that I had a good grasp of basic counting.  1, 2, 3, carry on… Apparently I was wrong!  My sobriety count was off by a few days.  So here I am, on (legitimate) day 119.

I’ve been taking note mentally of some of the things I’ve been doing sober for the first time. Some are little things like going for a tan.  Some things are bigger.  Tonight I went to a bar.  Hubby recently joined a band and they did a short set tonight.  So I spent a couple of hours in a bar socializing with people that I’ve only met once before.

That scenario, for most people, is pretty innocuous: have a drink, chat with the band wives, get to know people.  For me, however, it’s fraught with potential pitfalls.  If I picture this scenario happening 4 months ago, I would have drank heavily before leaving the house (in “secret” because I was pretending to be sober).  I would have been very irritable with hubby before leaving the house, hoping to get out of even going because of the anxiety of spending time with people I don’t know – what the hell would I say to people?  I would end up going, but I’d be bitchy in the car ride over, sucking the fun out of the night for hubby.  And of course, there would be a water bottle filled with vodka in my purse and I’d excuse myself to the bathroom every half hour.

Such a miserable scenario.  Thankfully my head is a little clearer, 119 days in, and the night ended up being a lot of fun.  I was supportive of hubby, who thoroughly enjoyed himself, which is the most important piece of the night.  I even enjoyed chatting with one of the wives.  It’s been a long time since I’ve had friends and it was nice to have a small reminder of what it’s like to just chit-chat and get to know someone.

My take-away at the end of day 119 is that I want to be conscious of little snippets of life and how different they are to experience sober.  And that’s how I’ll get through this final half hour of day 119…

Thoughts?

